EE301A: Digital Signal Processing

Course Description

  • To get access, contact vishalku@iitk.ac.in

This course aims at introducing the students to the fundamentals of digital signal processing useful for various signal processing applications. The lectures will focus on mathematical principles and the intuitive understanding behind, and there will be coding based assignments for implementation. The course will include some applications in audio and image processing.

Note: The assignments will be lighter than the last semester's MLSP ones :).

Mode

  • The class will be run in flipped mode. Lecture videos will be posted online every week (mostly on Tuesday every week). There will be one class per week (on Thursday 8AM in L-2) with a mini-quiz every week.
  • There will be 2 major quizzes - 31st Jan and 27th March, both Friday.
  • Other class slots can be used for extra classes if need be.

Grading

  • Assignments: 20%
  • Mini quizzes: 10%
  • Major quizzes: 10%
  • Mid-sem: 25%
  • End-sem: 35%

Plagiarism Penalty

As heavy as possible. Zero-tolerance policy.

Teaching Assistants

Vishal Kumar vishalku@iitk.ac.in
Avinash Simhadri simhadri@iitk.ac.in
Sumit Kumar krsumit@iitk.ac.in
Adhiraj Banerjee adhiraj@iitk.ac.in
Amit Kr Pandit pamit@iitk.ac.in
Rahul Kodag rkodag@iitk.ac.in
Swati Singh swatisn@iitk.ac.in
Akash Apare aaapare@iitk.ac.in
Raj Prakash Gohil rgohil@iitk.ac.in

Course Content

  • Introduction to digital/discrete-time signals
  • Linear Time-Invariant (LTI) Systems
  • Discrete Time Fourier Transform (DTFT)
  • Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT)
    • Fast Fourier Transform (FFT)
  • Z-transform
  • Structures of Discrete-time Systems
  • Digital Filter design
  • Applications in Audio and Image Processing

References

This course will use some standard books on digital signal processing:

  • Discrete time signal processing (3rd ed.) – by Oppenheim and Schafer
  • Digital Signal Processing (4th ed.) – by Proakis and Manolakis
  • The Scientist and Engineer's Guide to Digital Signal Processing - by Steven W. Smith (Available online https://www.dspguide.com/pdfbook.htm)
  • Think DSP: Digital Signal Processing in Python - by Allen B. Downey (Available online https://greenteapress.com/wp/think-dsp/)

We may also go through some articles and research papers in SP conferences (e.g., ICASSP, Interspeech, ISMIR, etc.) and journals (e.g., IEEE TASLP, etc.).